Tags

, , , ,

It’s only taken the third day of school to make me want to send my 12-year-old to boarding school.   Guess what lucky firefighter gets to miss dang near EVERY school morning routine?  Yep… mine.  Lucky.  Or so it seems.

This morning consisted of having no jeans.  Honey, it is the THIRD day of school and you have at least 6 pairs of jeans…….. where are they?  It doesn’t help that her room looks like she has a hoarding situation usually.  Dressers and closets are for clothes… why are they not in there and where are they?

He gets to miss the snarls and the stomping.
The sassy mouth that makes me wonder how I let her continue to live when she is talking to me, in that way, before I’ve even consumed coffee…

Her complaints about hair.  Shirts.  The bus coming early.  The bus coming late.  GEEZ kid, the only thing in life you need to worry about is school and chores, stop trying to ruin everything with incessant complaining.  I can’t stand complainers.  Rational complaints and rants, to de-stress… are ok!

He gets to miss it all.  Lucky.
I’d almost rather take his place, even if it means running into a burning building or taking a crackhead to the hospital at 3 am because they need a fix…

I won’t get started on the homework, on the first day of school or how I was told last night “You’re going to be the reason I fail 7th grade.” after she realized she left what she needed to do homework with (A story on paper and her math book) at school, in her locker.  I haven’t figured out how that was my fault yet…

He got to miss that…
 

On the other hand, I’m sure he feels like he misses it.  He doesn’t get to see the cute new things the little one does until it’s no longer cute to me.  He doesn’t get to see projects being decided on or how boy crazy this big kid is.  He is missing it and I’m sure he misses it.

 

