Tags

, , , , , ,

Sometimes I get backed up on my duties as a housewife and stay at home mom. Sometimes intentionally, hoping the other creatures who appear to be human see how filthy it is and will stop being so lazy (I don’t suggest it, it only brings more questions about why they don’t have clean underwear!), but sometimes it’s because it just can’t all be done by one person all the time.

Guess what?  After talking with a fire wife the other day, what she said sank in.  Who cares if your house doesn’t look like a magazine perfect picture.  Who cares if all you have is a path to walk without tripping while clutter is pushed to the sides.  We can’t do it all and we don’t have to!  We are not some fictional character with super powers.  Our greatest feature should be knowing when not to let us defeat ourselves!

I use to feel the need to be perfect.  Perfection is an illusion.  I bet if we could have crawled inside of Wonder Woman’s head, it wouldn’t be as pretty or put together as the outside.  She is a woman after-all.

But on the brakes.

This isn’t a free for all, let the house go post.  Please, don’t do that.  Just don’t stress out if everything on your list hasn’t been crossed off.  Give yourself a break.  Give yourself credit for the things you do get done.

With my firefighter currently on day 2 of 5 straight, I’m trying to give myself an area of  the house each day.  It’s too much to try to get my work done, chase a toddler and clean up after her 500 times a day, wash the millions of clothes two girls try on a day, cook, dishes, bathroom, clutter, my own mess, and you get the point.   There is no need in me wearing myself out, ultimately making me one tire, grumpy mom trying to do my solo thing for days and take it all out on the kids.  A little messy with happy hearts is much better.

Find a little time for yourself, every day. Do something you love, even if it’s 15 minutes. Paint your nails. Workout. Call a friend. Hide in the closet and eat a few cookies!!! Find some time somewhere for just a little you time. You have time for what you make time for. It will make you more productive and relaxed.

Don’t try to be a super woman.
Take that cape off.
Do you give yourself a break?!

