Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I recently read a line that I’ve often caught myself wondering myself.

I’m a firefighter’s wife.
I take pride in that.
I take interest in my husband’s career.
I buy my fire wife apparel.
I have my fire wife vehicle decal.
I wear his firefighter tshirts, allthefrickintime.
I am in and work for a group that is specifically called FirefighterWife

If I woke up tomorrow and wasn’t a firefighter wife, what would I be? It takes a minute for that to sink in. Not a fire wife? That takes away so much of my life, so much of what I love and so much of what gives me meaning and common ground with women I have grown very fond of. If someone took all of that away from me and stripped me down to my personal being, what am I?
That’s tough. Before I fell in love with being a firefighter’s girl… I was just a girl. I was a divorcee. I was single. I was an employee. I was a mother, daughter, sister, cousin, niece, granddaughter and friend. I was content. Inside of me, I am still every bit of the same person I was before, only I’ve added what feels like a lifetime of knowledge and emotion. I’ve grown. I’ve matured. I’ve aged. If you take away my title, I’m still the person I have always been. I am so much more than a fire wife, but that doesn’t meant I can’t love being a fire wife!

Today is the last day of 2013. There is so much I learned about myself this year, just my personal self. I offer the world more than I have been. I am worth more than I thought. I am stronger than I imagined. I have grace. I also learned several things about being a firefighter’s wife. You can find that post at: FirefighterWife.com

May all of your worries of 2013 wash away.
May 2014 bring you more joy than sorrow.

Are you reflecting on where you have been and where you want to go?

